[updated September 24, 2021] Microsoft Teams is a unified communication and collaboration platform that combines persistent workplace chat, video meetings, file storage (including collaboration on files), and application integration. Teams are made up of channels. Each channel is typically built around a faculty/department name or topic. Channels are where you hold meetings, have conversations, and work on files together.
To request a new MS Team, go to the Microsoft Team Request Form and submit the required information.
Contact the IT Service Desk to request a new Team if:
You will need to provide the Service Desk with the following information:
You can reach the IT Service Desk at firstname.lastname@example.org or call 905-845-9430 ext. 2150.
Go to Sheridan's AppsAnywhere page to download and install the MS Teams desktop app.
For information about the latest features for MS Teams, as well as other products/services included with Microsoft 365, see Microsoft 365 New Features.
Have you have had those moments where you wanted to read a Microsoft Teams chat message but didn't want to feel obligated to instantly reply because the other person saw that you have read the message? Turn off read receipts by going to Settings > Privacy > and Turn off Read Receipts and message senders will no longer see when you have read their message. If you don't see this feature yet, sign-out/sign-in to Teams and this option should be available to you.
The Microsoft Viva Insights app in Teams provides personalized recommendations to build better work habits. Insights will help you stay on top of your collaboration with colleagues through features such as AI-based task suggestions and meeting assistance. The app can also help you find more time to eliminate distractions and focus on your core priorities.
There may come a point in time where the Team you were part of is no longer necessary or your membership in the group is no longer required. The links below will show you the steps required to leave, archive, and/or delete a Team.
Leaving a Team
Users can choose to leave a Team at any time. However, if a Team has more than one owner, any owner can leave the team except for the last owner—they must choose to archive or delete that team if it is no longer required.
Archiving a Team
Archiving a team will allow all members of that Team to access existing content like files and messages but will not allow new messages or files to be posted.
Deleting a Team
When you choose to delete a Team, the Team will no longer show up in your Teams list, but it will reside in your list of managed teams for up to 30 days from the day of deletion. After those 30 days the Team will be permanently deleted unless you choose to restore the Team.
With the attendance report feature in MS Teams you can easily download a list of all attendees that made it to your Teams meeting. This is a great feature for users that need to track attendees for committee meetings or for faculty members that need to record student attendance for virtual classes.
Helpful Hint: Make sure that you download the attendance report right before you end the meeting – the report is only available while you are joined to the meeting.
By default at Sheridan, each person that is invited to a Teams Meeting is given the presenter role unless otherwise changed during or prior to the meeting. It is important to learn about the permissions that each role has during a meeting so that you don't have any unexpected surprises. See Roles in a Teams Meeting to learn more.
By now most people have had a Teams Meeting where they needed to share a PowerPoint but sharing the desktop screen just doesn't cut it. Watch the following videos to learn some additional methods on how to share PowerPoint presentations in Teams.
How to use Presenter View in Microsoft Teams
How to properly present PowerPoint Slides in Microsoft Teams
Our default permissions for file sharing in a Teams chat is set to "People in your organization with the link", allowing anyone with that sharing link in Sheridan to view and download that document. However, you have other options you can employ that include giving access to anyone, people with existing access, or specific people.
Turn on the new meeting features in your Teams desktop app for an improved user experience. Enjoy focused pop-out windows for calls and meetings, new meeting controls, and other cool features. Learn more
This definitive guide covers some everyday etiquette and best practices for using MS Teams to help keep things clean, organized, and productive (yet still fun and enjoyable). Learn more
With common features such as file sharing, chat, and planning connectors, many users wonder when they should use Teams Group Chat versus Team Collaboration. This AvePoint blog article will go over both and offers reasons when each should be used. Learn more
Here's some handy tips for using Teams. The links below will direct you to resources from Microsoft.
If you want to send an email to a channel in Teams, use the channel email address. Once an email is part of a channel, anyone can reply to it to start a conversation. Learn more
This is the who, what, where, and shh! of notification settings in Microsoft Teams. Visit Manage notifications in Teams for more details about how to adjust your notification settings. Learn more
Microsoft has implemented a way to further individualize your channel names in Microsoft Teams by adding images in the form of emoji icons to the name. Learn more
Do you often wonder if your teammates saw your message in Teams? Read receipts in private chats allow senders to know when a message was read by the recipients. Learn more
A meeting organizer may want to change the default participant settings for a specific meeting. Organizers can make these changes on the Meeting Options web page. Learn more
* Note: changing meetings options is browser-based and not currently available for Safari. You can use Google Chrome, Firefox, or MS Edge.
Stay connected with channels in Microsoft Teams. Channels in Teams are where team conversations and collaboration happen, and this tutorial will give you some tips on how to use them.
You can sync your SharePoint or Teams files to a folder on your computer where you can work directly in File Explorer and access the files even when you're offline. Whenever you're online, any changes that you or others make will sync automatically. Learn more
Do you have information or an announcement that needs to be shared across multiple teams and channels? Learn how to post messages to multiple channels at once. Learn more
You can instantly pop out your one-on-one or group chat into a separate window. and then, resize, reposition, or close the window as you wish. It’s a great way to get a lot done when you’re in a meeting or in a call. FYI: You can pop out multiple conversations, but not the same chat twice. Learn more
Visit the links below for more details about using Teams.
Several video tutorials regarding MS Teams are available from LinkedIn Learning. Follow the instructions below to access the courses:
Join the Microsoft Teams Community
With over 200 members (and growing) Sheridan’s MS Team’s community is a place to learn, share ideas, and ask questions about the Teams service. We’d love to have you as a member of our Teams community.